Notices

Thread: Need help with my cornering and braking

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Need help with my cornering and braking 
    Hello I am fairly new to biking and would love to go on a ride with a experienced rider to help me learn when to break and where to be on a bend . I think its me not the bike so would love the help

2. Re: Need help with my cornering and braking 
    Just get used to the bike to start with. Have a few rides on your own and go at your own pace. You'll find a lot of it comes with confidence and time.

If you want some professional help, have a Chat with Able Training. WB has orgonised rideouts every month and smaller groups ride all the time. Personally the weekends are difficult for me, but I'm happy to ride with anyone if I have the time.
    "there's no aspect, no facet, no moment in life that can't be improved with pizza"

3. Re: Need help with my cornering and braking 
    Ye I find my new bike alot better just find myself thinking to much about what I am doin when cornering .

4. Re: Need help with my cornering and braking 
    if you want to go for a ride sometime to see how i take corners, pm me and i'll give you my number, i've only been riding for under 2 years but i don't really find myself thinking about the corners i just do it, by getting into the position where i can see as muc as i can around the bend and keeping at a slightly slower speed.

When taking a right handed bend if you position yourself slightly closer to the left hand side of the road it increases visibility and reduces the angle of the bend and therefore makes it easier to take the bend, also look where you want to go as it will take you where you want to go.

And when taking a left hand bend go position yourself slightly to the right of your normal line for the same affects as above.

Rob

5. Re: Need help with my cornering and braking 
    Diamond Member