Notices

Thread: Bike maintenance

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Bike maintenance 
    Hi all, I am brand new to the world of motorcycling and currently part way through my DAS. I have recently purchased a Fazer 600 on a 55 plate. The bike is in really good condition and has been looked after well by its previous owners.

The question I have is on general maintenance and upkeep of my bike. What are the key things I must do weekly and monthly? As I have an understanding of something’s I must do but would like to know from experienced riders. Also for jobs such as cleaning and oiling/waxing the chain what products are best as every manufacture makes claims that they sell the best product, but in the real world we know that’s not true.

I would be very grateful of any advice anyone can offer.

Thanks

2. Re: Bike maintenance 
    Tyre pressures, theoretically before every ride, but TBH I don't know anyone that actually check's them - worth doing at least once a week though as off pressures can radically affect the bike's handling.

Tyre depth/condition, essential to check the condition of your tyres, there is a small contact patch between you and the ground - make sure it's a good one!

Oil level, check it on a level surface with the bike held upright - let it drop too low and you'll be looking for a new engine.

Chain tension/condition, again, in theory you should check before every ride, but again at least once a week should be fine depending on how many miles you ride.

Horn/indicators/lights/etc., a quick run through daily is well worth it, especially if you ride at night or if the bike is left outside - it's no fun riding home in the dark, on country B roads with no lights

I would say those would be the most important - there's probably something I've missed, but it's still early and I've not quite woken up yet

3. Re: Bike maintenance 
    Platinum Member