Notices

Thread: Support for a person with Learning Disabilities

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
  1. Support for a person with Learning Disabilities 
    I am a social worker and I support a person who has Learning Disabilities and would really like to be a biker. He is going to need a lot of training to achieve this and it will be a great challenge for him, shall he ever were to become one.

I was wondering if there are any clubs in Wiltshire that would be happy to offer him an associate membership, a badge or anything that would make him feel like a part of the community? Perhaps there is a club which members could go and visit him from time to time?

The guy is being harassed and bullied by local youths because of his Learning Disabilities and is gradually becoming more isolated and anxious.

Is there anyone who has any ideas or is willing to support the guy? He lives in Devizes.

2. Re: Support for a person with Learning Disabilities 
    Hi,
    Sorry to hear about the youths, they're arses!
    If he was to join Wiltshire Bikers he would be able to get branded clothing with his forum name on (for a price of course).

His/your best bet is to contact a local a riding school and exlore his options with regards to learning/ training on becoming a biker.

Hope you get some proper help as not much more I can think of
    onwards and upwards and sometimes a little sidewards....

3. Re: Support for a person with Learning Disabilities 
    He's more than welcome to join us lot - you don't even need a bike to join the forums and join in the chat and at the meets
    http://twitter.com/WiltshireBikers
    http://www.facebook.com/WiltshireBikers

4. Re: Support for a person with Learning Disabilities 
    A long shot I know but maybe if we have a small group ride out and visit him the yobs harassing him might think twice, who knows it might even make him more popular. I would happily ride out and give it a go. 8-) 8-) 8-)