PDA

View Full Version : Specs

njl
23-06-15, 07:29 PM
I'd put off the opticians for about 20 years, and now discovered that I should be wearing glasses for distance stuff. My eyesight is ok for driving without, but since getting my glasses spend all day in them when on the road behind the wheel.

However I've no experience of riding with glasses, should I consider getting a 'cheap' pair to use on the bike, what type of frame is better for in a lid, anything else to keep in mind?

Oldbiker61
23-06-15, 07:39 PM
I wear mine all the time as long as they fit nice should be no problem, however thought about contact lenses

BB
23-06-15, 07:53 PM
Up to you if you want a 'cheap' pair, recommend take your helmet along when you go to get them and get a either a robust frame or flexible frame to wriggle in over your ears! Always good having a couple of pairs if you can afford it. I've got small framed lenses for helmet wear and slightly larger pair for none bike riding.

Best advice? Remember to take them off before removing full face helmet - can be painful physically and fiscally if you don't!

BB

Long John
23-06-15, 08:20 PM
I've always had similar glasses that have straight sides rather than the ones that wrap over the top of your ears. These have always been secure and very comfortable. The ones I have are quicksilver from Specsavers, spot on and strong, and yes I have tried taking my helmet off before the glasses. Contacts are better, but personally I can't always be bothered. Hope this helps

Stuntsunlimited
24-06-15, 09:28 AM
contact lenses are pretty comfortable these day. Make sure you clean them, they build up protein on them which isn't great for both vision and comfort. You can get those ones that you can leave in for a month.

Mitch9128
24-06-15, 09:30 AM
Can't you get prescription visors yet?

njl
24-06-15, 10:34 AM
Can't you get prescription visors yet?

That did briefly cross my mind!!

njl
24-06-15, 10:36 AM