PDA

View Full Version : headshake / tankslap

NiteW4tcher
30-01-11, 04:41 PM
in response to the post regarding steering dampers.

before i started riding big bikes, i was given some information on the best way to deal with headshake / tankslaps

first off id like to establish what produces a headshake.....

rapid power delivery? rider error? road conditions? suspension set up? tyre condition? combinations of above???

the information i was given was, to "power out" of the shake....as backing off the throttle will cause the shake to get worse.

and dont ever ride flat out...always have room to accelerate....incase of said headshake

as more experienced riders what are your opinions???

Dan

Si
30-01-11, 05:30 PM
Exactly what I was taught mate. Im quite used to the TL throwing a paddy and shaking her head. Always leave a bit in reserve to pull out of it.

Mark_Able
30-01-11, 07:59 PM
Firstly, by powering out of it, you're taking some weight off the front tyre, therefore reducing it's grip and ability to upset the bike. If you power off, it throws a considerable amount of weight onto the front tyre, giving more grip to the front (as well as steepening fork angle) and so make the 'slapper' worse. Another vital part of correcting a 'slapper' is to stay relaxed. By tensing on the bars and through your body, you'll transfer the violent shaking through to the rear of the bike. The rear is quite happily following it's given course, and it's the rear that's steering the bike, at that moment. Watch the GP riders when it gets all squirrely... ;)

Squashed_Fly
31-01-11, 12:10 PM
Pedrosa is always a good one to watch for that!

wiltshire builders
31-01-11, 05:20 PM