PDA

View Full Version : bike mechanics

Beamer
01-01-11, 06:11 PM
This is just a thought.
I am pretty crap at basic mechanics with bikes and would like to learn how to do things to my bike and how it works etc etc.
I know there are things on youtube etc and books to use but I was wondering is anyone willing to 'teach' me (and anyone else who's interested) the basics so I dont always need to go to a mechanic to fix little problems? :) :)

Scaredy_Cat
01-01-11, 06:26 PM
Good idea [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Gotta be better than my trial-and-error approach! :D

Jacde
01-01-11, 06:39 PM
Brilliant idea Tina, I'd be interested in this too :)

Squashed_Fly
01-01-11, 06:52 PM
Me too!

silly_simon
01-01-11, 07:31 PM
I can/could show peeps how to adjust chains,change plugs, air filters, oil filter changes etc

I'm NOT a qualified mechanic and as such would only advise you and show you the very basics [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

If interested we can easily sort sommat out for a weekend :)

Mark_Able
01-01-11, 08:25 PM
Funnily enough, this was a subject we thought we might cover in the future, with one of our classroom sessions. Maybe even do a couple of hours one evening in the summer? :-/

Beamer
01-01-11, 09:19 PM
Excellent stuff..... [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Dabz
01-01-11, 09:28 PM
I'd be up for that too

HensonA
02-01-11, 04:03 AM
Excellent idea Tina and I'd be interested in attending a "basics" training session [smiley=thumbup.gif] :)

Jon_W
03-01-11, 05:13 PM
I can/could show peeps how to adjust chains,change plugs, air filters, oil filter changes etc

I'm NOT a qualified mechanic and as such would only advise you and show you the very basics [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

If interested we can easily sort sommat out for a weekend :)

Ditto here. Am a qualified engineer, and service my fleet of bikes, but am not a motorcycle mechanic.

Am very happy to demostrate the principles, and show peope how to do the basics.

The basics I think are:

Oil Change,
Filter Change,