PDA

View Full Version : Any opticians on here?

Rabb
15-07-12, 08:16 PM
I had a sight test Today and the optician has spotted some lessions on both of my retinas that need to be investigated. He told me that it is common and that they are 'not raised' however I will have to go to hospital to have it checked out and to also check that they are not malignant!!!
I don't mind admitting that I'm sh1t scared.

Dan505
15-07-12, 09:35 PM
:o whats your job?

Rabb
15-07-12, 09:43 PM
I'm an assistant manager in retail.

Dan505
15-07-12, 11:02 PM
oh ok, wondered if your job involved anything high energy wise you had to look at which may have explained the burns on the eye. i.e. arc welding...

fingers crossed its all ok for you

Nikki
16-07-12, 08:39 AM
I had a sight test Today and the optician has spotted some lessions on both of my retinas that need to be investigated. He told me that it is common and that they are 'not raised' however I will have to go to hospital to have it checked out and to also check that they are not malignant!!!
I don't mind admitting that I'm sh1t scared.

Why not give the opticians a call and say just what you've posted. They really should be happy to explain it for you.

BB
21-07-12, 08:13 PM
They should be happy to explain to set your mind at rest. Have you gotr your appointment yet?

BB

Fugazi-p
22-07-12, 08:53 AM
Hey Rabb, dont panic. I had the same thing a few years back, had to have drops in at the hospital to widen pupils so they can have a good look around and you cannot drive or ride afterwards. Turned out to be a simple mole on the back of the eye and nothing to worry about.
Good luck and hope all goes well.

Fugazi-p
22-07-12, 08:56 AM
oh,,,, and take some sunglasses cos the light is a little uncomfortable afterwards because your pupils will be dilated and will not react to light for a couple of hours.

SupeRDel
22-07-12, 09:16 AM
Eyes are treated as your most important sense so they will always take any eye problems seriously (quickly)