PDA

View Full Version : Bike / Trike MOT's

flyingosca
05-06-07, 04:39 PM
Hi folks, I am very new to biking, in fact that's an over statement as I have just got myself a trike which is due an MOT as soon as I have taken care of a couple of jobs on it.

I have a place in Swindon lined up to do the test for me who wanted to know the weight of the trike. Can anyone out there tell me why they need the weight? (I had it weighed on Sat and its only 320kg.) What is looked for specifically when a test is done?

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks

nicko600
05-06-07, 05:26 PM
Possibly it is needed to see whether to test it as PLG or motorcycle.

igbell
05-06-07, 05:30 PM
A stab in the dark here, are they a bike MOT centre or a car MOT centre??
If it is a bike centre then it could be down to the weight the arms can take, that lift the bike off of the ground.
If your trike is too heavy they might not be able to lift it off of the ground. :P

That is my idea, but it might be wrong, dont blame me if I am wrong ;)

Ladyridercymru
05-06-07, 05:34 PM
You might find this club handy for any tips on trike builds, mot's etc
http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/trikeownersandbuilders/

You have to register (free) then thats it, you can log on and post away!

Amante_271
06-06-07, 08:10 AM
You might find this club handy for any tips on trike builds, mot's etc
http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/trikeownersandbuilders/

You have to register (free) then thats it, you can log on and post away!
I just did and cant make head nor tail of it! It seems to be a shed load of spam and carp (Anagram/typo!)

All power to Dabz elbow as WB is ALOT more coherent and easier to understand/use!

Ladyridercymru
06-06-07, 09:24 AM
Amante once you have regsitered you can go to the message section whereby you can either post up a query or read the info..

Yahoo clubs are very basic.. but I just thought I would find some info on trikes for the man as WB doesnt have many trike owners ;)

flyingosca