PDA

View Full Version : Off road training day - Trail Ride World

Honda_Star
13-08-10, 10:02 PM
Hi all

Scotty and I went to an off road training day at Trail Ride World near Dunstable today

http://www.trailworld.co.uk

I am not that experienced at off roading and was looking forward to having some proper tuition.

Arrived at the training school at 9.30 am, got kitted up and ready to go. There were 5 of us in total and we were trained by a guy called Chris (cant recall his surname) but he is some off roading champion god of some description. All hail. :)

We started off on some basic circuits including some water work and cornering technique, gravel work etc etc. Then learnt about leaning on the pegs to make the bike turn, some skidding (scary stuff!), learning how to ride through ruts (even scarier!) learning how to pick your bike up from awkward positions (mmmm might have been a few tears at some point - but I FINALLY did it) ....and all in pretty much torrential rain. We finished the day riding round an Enduro circuit and practising what we had been taught.

The rain made interesting riding especially up the hills where the ground was just getting churned up into slippery goo...all really good fun though.

Lost how many times I came off but everyone helped me and came to my rescue if my bike was stuck in awkward position where I couldn't lift it myself. Despite the weather and the sheer exhaustion, it was an excellent day and I would recommend it to anyone. I took my own bike, but they do hire bikes and gear too. It is more tiring than you can ever imagine...especially as the whole day was very focused and pretty technical for me.