PDA

View Full Version : Eeeeek!

Squashed_Fly
25-03-11, 09:59 AM
Have just found out I've been riding with no tax for the last 6 months!

I took it for granted that when I bought the bike it came with at least 6 months tax (stupidly, but then this is the first time I've bought through a dealer and Jens car came with tax when she bought it...)

Realised yesterday that I'd never seen the tax disc for it so called the DVLA and they said it wasn't. And thanks to me being honest, realising my mistake and taxing the vehicle immediately, she said they will probably now issue me with a penalty notice!!! It's obviously much easier to catch people who make genuine mistakes then put them right as soon as they realise than spend time catching people who deliberately do it.

What I don't understand, is how they haven't noticed yet and told me first - I thought all the new avg speed cams and motorway cams were ANPR as well for this reason?

Snowy
25-03-11, 11:58 AM
You can check your tax status on line - anonomously.

Squashed_Fly
25-03-11, 12:04 PM
They must have known that I had the bike untaxed as apparently it ran out in August last year. They have my address so why didn't they send me a reminder to SORN/tax it if it was a problem.

They sent me the new V5 so they could have sent something with it. It's not their fault or responsibility I know. Just hope they don't send a fine now. Am kicking myself for not looking it up online first and just taxing it without saying anything

Nooj
25-03-11, 01:15 PM
From the last couple of years experience with the DVLA, I don't think they could organise a **** in a pigsty, so this doesn't surprise me. You're just lucky you didn't get pulled by the fuzz!

BB
25-03-11, 01:55 PM
When Ghost came to tax one of his bikes a while back after discovering he was untaxed it turned out there was a typo on the address on the V5 so the renewal had gone to the wrong address!

BB

wiltshire builders
25-03-11, 02:07 PM