Notices

Thread: Honda cx500

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Honda cx500 
    Platinum Member
    Hi iv just added a 1981 honda cx500 to my stable and I love it. It's big, heavy and solid. Only thing is the clutch slips like a bugger when the engines cold, id say for the 1st mile it slips bad, then for the next mile it gets better untill there's no slip at all. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Iv also got a 1981 Honda vf750magna which does much the same. Im new to older hondas so is this a common thing with them or am I just very unlucky in having two like it?
    Cheers. Roy

My old CX500 clutch never slipped. Don't have this bike anymore but I made a lot of miles in the saddle on it.
    It might be something simple, like regulation, or bit more expensive like old weak springs and wear clutch rings.
    As far as I remember clutch access is extreme easy, so eventually job should be not complicated.
    Also when yo have it check if you have leak from water pump seal - this is very common in CX and fix is pain in the neck ...

be careful with the cx, I had one les than5 years old and they suffered from big end failures, I test rode mine , agreed subject to a rattle on left side. turned out the garage had to replace big ends, rods, and pistons. even back in the day with a Honda trained mechanic it was a all day job to get the engine out.
    as for clutch slipping, what oil was used for last service? many people used oil designed for cars, this made clutches slip on bikes... hint, bikes run wet clutches cars run dry!!
    as Arek says, when were plates and springs changed. EBC do higher tension spring kits

Platinum Member
    Thanks for the replys, I'm not sure on the oil as it was serviced just before I brought it, il make that the 1st thing i do on both bikes. If not springs and plates will be next. Cheers
    Last edited by Badger-Roy; 05-07-17 at 05:31 PM.