Notices

Thread: First Test Ride - What to Expect

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. First Test Ride - What to Expect 
    There is one bike above all others that I've been in love with since it was first released in 2010 - the BMW S1000RR.

I've been saving solidly for almost four years now and am in a position where I am able to buy one. I've booked myself in for a test ride at the BMW Motorrad dealer in Oxford for early April. It's a demo bike that I'll be using.

I've had my bike for over 2 years (a 500cc Kawasaki) so I'm not new to biking, but I'm looking for tips as to what I should be looking out for during a test ride.

One of the main things I want to check out is the riding position - I don't want to buy a really uncomfortable sportsbike! But... what else should I be checking, and what can I expect to get out of the test ride besides a feel for the bikes performance and handling? How long does a test ride usually take, where should I go etc etc.

Any tips or advice is appreciated.
    "Only a biker knows why a dog sticks its head out of a moving car window"

2012 BMW S1000RR
    1999 Kawasaki ER500

facebook.com/upshiftmedia

Quote Originally Posted by MayallRob View Post
    There is one bike above all others that I've been in love with since it was first released in 2010 - the BMW S1000RR.

I've been saving solidly for almost four years now and am in a position where I am able to buy one. I've booked myself in for a test ride at the BMW Motorrad dealer in Oxford for early April. It's a demo bike that I'll be using.

I've had my bike for over 2 years (a 500cc Kawasaki) so I'm not new to biking, but I'm looking for tips as to what I should be looking out for during a test ride.