Notices

Thread: Newbie biker

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Newbie biker 
    Hi All

I am a newbie biker approaching my 40th birthday and just finishing my DAS. I currently ride a YBR125 but have been doing my training on a Yam 600 Diversion - this was my first taste of big bike power. It was great ;D

I am finding it really hard to decide what bike to to buy. I have a budget of £5k to include training and clothing (so deduct £1k I guess). Everyone is pointing me in the direction of Fazers and Bandit 600's. I have to say I can be a bit stubborn and two things are making me resist.

I would prefer a fully faired bike to get more protection from the elements - but then I don't really know how much protection you are going to get as I have no experience of faired bikes (or big bikes of any description for that matter). If you get wet on all bikes to some degree then maybe this is of no real consequence. For example if someone on a half faired bike and someone on a full faired bike went out for a ride in the rain, would one be less wet than the other at the end? Sorry - i just have no idea at the moment

Secondly I am worried I might find a Bandit or Fazer 'boring' quite quickly. For example, £3k will buy you a nice Honda Super Blackbird 1100 - now that sounds like fun

A biker friend of mine said something that I didn't fully understand - I said about getting a bigger bike as opposed to a 600 and he said - 'There's a lot more that can go wrong on a bigger bike'. I presume he didn't mean they were dearer to service etc, but that perhaps things happen quicker on a 1000cc, or that mistakes are amplified? Could anyone elaborate on what they think my friend meant. I guess I am on the right lines.

What sort of things does a novice friendly bike do that a more difficult bike to ride wouldn't do - and consequently chuck you off? Could someone give me an example?