Notices

Thread: Twins, Triples, Fours...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    I've been riding for a few years now but still don't really know the differences between twins, triples, etc. From reading magazines etc I'm assuming they have different characteristics, power etc...but can anyone explain what the actual differences are? Why do some people choose, say, a triple rather than a four? I've only ever ridden jap fours, and now the triump which is a 4 too.
    http://twitter.com/WiltshireBikers
    http://www.facebook.com/WiltshireBikers

2. Re: Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    You poor bugger, never having ridden a V twin!!!

Over the summer, blag some gos on other folks' bikes will be the best way.

3. Re: Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    Go to any dealer and blag a test ride on a few to try em....
    great day out

4. Re: Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    so what's the difference then? what makes a vtwin so fun?
    http://twitter.com/WiltshireBikers
    http://www.facebook.com/WiltshireBikers

5. Re: Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    Sound, grunt, especially exiting bends, looks & panache. Only ridden a triple once (150 Speed Triple) so can't really comment but I'm sure the triple owners can tell you more.
    I'm now on a BMW 1150GS so still a twin (flat rather than v), just doesn't have such a sweet tone, and the engine looks hideous rather than seductive!! Handles miles better than the looks suggest though so I am more than happy with it.

Ducatis are generally L twins BTW as the angle is 90 degrees whereas the Aprilias are 60 degrees so are proper V twins ;D ;D

6. Re: Twins, Triples, Fours... 
    from what i remember a 4 gets its power from revs thats why most red line at say 14k so to get the bike moving fast you have to rev the nuts off it.