Notices

Thread: Squared off tyres!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Squared off tyres! 
    Hi All

The rear tyre on my 600 bandit is starting to look a bit squared off due to alot of long distance pillion riding lately.

Not really sure when I should do something about it as I'm not experienced enough. I'm not a knee down kind of rider!

Any advice

cheers

All

ps rode the A37 from Yeovil to Rochester on the way to Weymouth and back, fab road, shame i had the girlfriend on the back! only kidding LOL.

2. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    So long as the tyre got the right pressure in it when cold AND the tread depth is at least 1mm nothing to worry about.

Might be worth getting dual compound tyres where the centre is a bit harder if your doing lots of long miles on it.

3. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    Agreed.

Although it might start to feel less smooth into corners, and over damaged or uneven road surfaces. Particularly look for grooves in the road, your tyres will jump into and out of them!

Nothing dangerous as long as you're expecting it

4. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    The thing is you dont realise how bad your tyres are until you replace them. They get worse bit by bit and you just get used to them. If you are happy the way it handles then stick with them until they have to be changed.

5. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    THANK YOU for your replies!

cheers

Mike

6. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    Mine were both really squared off and I recently replaced both back and front - the difference is great! It turns in to corners a lot smoother and it feels a lot nicer
    http://twitter.com/WiltshireBikers
    http://www.facebook.com/WiltshireBikers

7. Re: Squared off tyres! 
    Quote Originally Posted by gravelrash
    The thing is you dont realise how bad your tyres are until you replace them. They get worse bit by bit and you just get used to them. If you are happy the way it handles then stick with them until they have to be changed.