PDA

View Full Version : Honda CBR Shims

Iceman
24-06-08, 04:43 PM
Without sounding non technicaly inclined what are Shims? I have a slight tapping sound from the engine on my CBR600F4, 18K miles on the clock. I'm sure I've heard something about engines need top end setting every so often! Thanks! :o

kaka
24-06-08, 09:57 PM
without being too technical,i am no mechanic the shim sits on the end of the valve & under the valve lifter on the camshaft end.
when the valve clearance has exceeded range then they need replacing....

As you need to measure the gap then order shims which then maybe the wrong size best left to the pro,s who should have various sizes in stock.
Yes this will be a light rattle especially when cold coming from the top end
This is what i am led to believe i may stand corrected

alanTDM
22-07-08, 12:12 AM
Theres a possibility that it could be your camchain tensioner which is causing chain to rattle slightly not sure how yours works on your bike but that might go as the tensioner moves inwards on its ratchet (if its got a ratchet system)
Shims usally need doing every 25-30k miles cause they dont wear out so fast as adjustable manual(lock nut and screw) do which usally are every 4k.
As the shims wear then the gap gets narrower so infact it tightens up which in extreme cases if left to long you end up with burnt valves cause they are not sealing properly.
But phone up dealer to find out what mileage the shims have to be checked/replaced

Iceman
22-07-08, 01:39 PM
Alan, thanks for that info mate. Never thought about the cam tensioner as a possibility. Sometimes the noise is louder then quietens other times. Im no expert. :-/

hotdog
22-07-08, 05:04 PM
As the shims wear then the gap gets narrower so infact it tightens up which in extreme cases if left to long you end up with burnt valves cause they are not sealing properly.