PDA

View Full Version : KTM SX and EXC?

Bennett
18-02-10, 05:23 PM
So, what's the difference between the KTM SX and EXC series?

I'm quite new to bike specs but for my 17th I'm aloud a KTM so I can start properly MX Racing and Freestyle.

125cc SX

Engine type - Single cylinder, 2-stroke
Displacement - 124.8 cc
Bore x stroke - 54 x 54.5 mm (2.13 x 2.15")
Starter - Kickstarter
Transmission - 6 gears
Carburetor - Keihin PWK 38S AG
Control - Exhaust control
Lubrication - Mixture oil lubrication 1:40
Transmission oil - Motorex, SAE 15W50
Primary drive - 23:73
Final drive - 13:50
Cooling - Liquid cooling
Clutch - Wet multi-disc clutch, operated hydraulically
Ignition - Kokusan

125cc EXC

Engine type - Single cylinder, 2-stroke
Displacement - 124.8 cc
Bore x stroke - 54 x 54.5 mm (2.13/2.15")
Starter - Kickstarter
Transmission - 6 gears
Carburetor - Keihin PWK 36 S AG
Control - Exhaust control
Lubrication - Mixture oil lubrication 1:60
Transmission oil - Motorex, SAE 15W-50
Primary drive - 23:73
Final drive - 14:42 (13:50)
Cooling - Liquid cooled
Clutch - Wet multi-disc clutch, operated hydraulically
Ignition - Kokusan

Thats probably too messy, so...

125cc SX - http://www.ktm.com/125-SX.30.19.html?&detailview=2&cHash=da62385a81
125cc EXC - http://www.ktm.com/125-EXC-Sixdays-Champions-Edition.35.19.html?&detailview=2&cHash=da62385a81

which one is best for MX Racing and Freestyle? I know thats a crazy question but. Hey, might aswell ask

ollie
18-02-10, 05:57 PM
i'd say sx as its the crosser and would be lighter. and easier to mod if you had to.

Bennett
18-02-10, 06:06 PM
Sweeeeet, thanks. Anyone else wants to offer their opinion, I'd love it. :)

UPDATE: Just realised, EXC has Head, Brake and Indicator lights, guessing this is Road Legal, hows it for all year riding?

ollie
18-02-10, 06:41 PM