PDA

View Full Version : Tyre profils.Opinions please!

Iceman
23-01-11, 08:36 PM
Wanting some opinions on tyre sizes please. I see over the years manufactures tweaking tyres.mainly the front height. just want to hear what you prefer. 120/70 120/65 or 120/60. I'm told 60 will turn in quicker,but 70 offers better grip when steeply banked! I'm no expert so want to hear from the experts on here as soon I may fit new tyres! I know the bikes come with preset profiles but nevertheless manufacturers have changed settings over the years.Also some bikes,especialy toures have large heights.

Nooj
24-01-11, 01:22 AM
Depends what the rear profile is, you need the tyres to work as a pair.

Jon_W
24-01-11, 11:15 AM
Just fit the profile the OEM recommends. You'll find no problems there.

Squashed_Fly
24-01-11, 11:24 AM
Wanting some opinions on tyre sizes please. I see over the years manufactures tweaking tyres.mainly the front height. just want to hear what you prefer. 120/70 120/65 or 120/60. I'm told 60 will turn in quicker,but 70 offers better grip when steeply banked! I'm no expert so want to hear from the experts on here as soon I may fit new tyres! I know the bikes come with preset profiles but nevertheless manufacturers have changed settings over the years.Also some bikes,especialy toures have large heights.

As Jon W says :)

All that stuff about grip, and quicker turn in etc will depend on the whelbase length, steering rake, height of the yokes amongst lots of other things. That's why the recommendation is different for each bike. The key thing is once you have gone as fast as it's physically possible to go on standard settings (a feat not many ever achieve), then you can start playing about with things to make you quicker still. If you can't hit the magic numbers on standard settings, making lots of changes will just be confusing as you'll never know quite what to change in future.